Leaving…..

Leaving McLeod was one of the saddest days of my life. I made so many good friends and I had a wonderful relationship with my host family.  I truly felt that my host family became part of my family. My Somo-la (aunt) and I had many lovely conversations and she taught me so much. My Pa-la (dad) was very nice to me and sometimes we debated about religion and the existence of the soul. The morning I left, my Pa-la put my extremely heavy dufflebag on his back and he started walking up the long hill to the taxi stand. No matter how much I protested, he wouldn’t let me carry it. This made me realize I would miss him even more. I told my friends and host family that I would try to come back in a few years, but I’m not sure when that will be. I can’t be soon enough though. I don’t want to leave the lovely Himalayas to go back to the mountains in Utah. There is just no comparison.

Now that I’m here in Delhi, I can’t wait to leave. I am very sad that I don’t like Delhi because I want to like it, but it’s very hard. It’s so crowded and busy and every time I walk down the street I get hounded by rickshaws and people trying to sell me things. That I will not miss.

I’ve had many ups and downs while in India, but I’m very glad I came. I feel like I’ve really changed as a person and grown up.  It is on my list of places to travel and next time maybe I’ll get to see more of the south.

Leave a Reply

