12

Monday we learned about becoming participant observers. First, we need to watch people around us. That’s the observation part. Next, we become part of the interaction we are observing, whether it be a party or a classroom setting. We need to focus on learning by participating. It doesn’t matter if we don’t know exactly what’s going on around us, we can learn as we go. We can learn from those around us by watching what they do and copying them.

I think this will be a crucial skill for me to learn. I know I said this about interviewing as well because it will be important, but participant observation will be very important to my study. I say this because I want to study five or six families. I want to interact with them and their meal planning. I want to shop with them. I want to cook with them. I want to eat with them. All along the way I will be asking questions, but I think that a lot of my information on the foods they eat and how they procure them will come from the time I spend with them.

From all these interactions I can take valuable notes, which will help me organize my thoughts into comprehensible information.

I don’t expect to just be able to spend so much time with them right away. I will need to get to know the families first. I may do this with participant observation as well. Maybe I’ll meet them at a social gathering or some other kind of occasion. If I’m participating in this occasion then I’ll be able to meet them easier and talk to them better than if I were simply observing off to the side. I don’t know if this will happen or work, but I think it’s worth thinking about before I get into the field.

In order to prepare for this, I should become more social. I can go to more parties and meet new people. This will help me to be less nervous around new people and that will hopefully greatly help me in the field. I can also read more on Tibetan customs so that I don’t offend anyone when I first meet them. Perhaps I should ask our Tibetan teacher more questions. He is a valuable resource that I should not take for granted.

So on the agenda for the next few days: be participant observer in a social situation and report on it; read more on Tibetan social norms.

3 responses to “12

  1. How to build a relationship with individual families to the point that you can participate and observe in their homes will be a big job, for your interviews and for participant observation activities. Even conducting this kind of study in the United States, you’d have a decent amount of work to do forming and strengthening relationships before you reached that level of participation. I wonder if there’s maybe a way to practice this kind of thing before going to India.

  2. I mean, if there’s a way to practice building relationships with a family and getting to the point of being welcome in their homes (you already gave some ideas on how to generally practice building rapport).

    • I could try to do this. I don’t know many families because of the college atmosphere, but maybe I could try and find some. I guess I had a fairy-tale mentality and thought that it would all work out once I got in the field. Thanks for helping me realize that I need a lot of practice.

Leave a Reply

