6

In class yesterday we talked about perspectives we have that can affect our opinions in moral matters and the like. Ashley asked us to explore what has helped develop our perspectives and to see how they may affect our studies.

The biggest influence on my perspectives has been religion, like most other BYU students. Being Mormon my whole life has helped me develop a very strong moral compass. I know certain things to be right and other things to be wrong and I judge situations accordingly. I try not to condemn anyone because that’s not my place, but I definitely won’t agree with someone who is doing what I and the church deem as “wrong”.

I don’t know exactly how this will affect my experience in the field. From what I’ve read it seems like the Tibetan people have pretty strong morals as well, but I can’t be certain because I’ve never lived with them before. I don’t think my morals will be challenged because of my study, but they could be challenged if they know I’m Christian. I will definitely not impose any of my morals on them because that would be inconsiderate of me. I’ll be myself and not be pushy or argumentative.

Another thing in my life that has affected my perspectives is my somewhat extensive education on nutrition. I’m learning what nutrition is needed in order to live a healthy life and what nutrition can lead to disease. I find nutrition so fascinating!! I’m worried that I may get caught up in analyzing these people’s diets and finding what they can to do improve instead of focusing on my study, which is simply to see how their traditional Tibetan diet has changed. I don’t believe their diets are as bad as our American diet it, but it will still be hard for me to resist over analyzing it. I may also have a hard time eating completely foreign food because I won’t know the nutritional contents of it. I guess that’s something I’ll just have to get over.

Leave a Reply

